CHAPTER - 4

BRITISH CONFLICT WITH OTHER POWERS

The Three curnatic wars.

First War-1746-48.

- War took place between English headed by Clive & French headed by Duplex & Labour done.
- War ended in compromise with the end of War of Austrian succession with the Treaty of Axe-la-chapal, 1748

Second War-1749-54.

In this Dupleix was defeated by Clive

Third War-1758-63.

- Battle of Wandiwash in 1760 in which Eyre Coot from English side defeated the French under Busy. This battle ended French commercial influence.
- Treaty of Paris, ended 7 years war in Europe & ended war in India as well.

ANGLO-MARATHA

- 1. Three wars were fought between the Company and the Marathas Second war weakend the Maratha power considerably- Third war destroyed Maratha power.
- 2. First Anglo-Maratha war-1775-82.
 - Basic cause of war was conflict over Gaddi of Peshawa between Raghunath Rao & Madhav Rao-II also known as Madhav Rao Narayan supported by great Maratha politician Nana Fhadanvis. Raghnath Rao sought British help.
 - The battle was averted by mediation of Scindia. Through his efforts Treaty of Salbai was signed i 1782 between English & Madhay Rao.
- 3. Second Anglo-Maratha War -1803-1806.
 - Combined forces of peshwa & Scindia were defeated by Holkar in 1802
 - · Peshwa Baji Rao II sought British help.
 - British gave help on the basis of subsidiary Treaty known as Treaty of Baessin in 1802.

- Maratha reaction gave birth to second Anglo-Maratha war. Scindia & Bhonsle declared war against British. Holkar did not participate in beginning.
- Bhonsle signed Treaty of Devgaon in 1803
 & Scindia signed Treaty of Surji Arjungaon in 1803.
- After these treaties small battle fought between Holkar & British in 1804-War ended with Treaty of Rajpur Ghat in 1806.
- 4. Third Anglo-Maratha War-1817-1818
 - Second war weakend Maratha power but it had not destroyed Maratha's Anti-British spirit.
 - Treaty of Baessin & Subsequent treaties eroded position, power & status of Peshwa & other Maratha Chiefs.
 - Maratha reaction gave birth to Third Anglo-Maratha war. This was initiated by Peshwa by attacking British residency at Poona.
 - Peshwa Baji Rao II, Yashwant Rao Halkar & Appa Sahib Bhonsle declared war against British
 - All the three were defeated by the British
 - · Peshwaship was abolished
 - Peshwa was exiled to Bithur with the Pension of Rs. 8 lakh.

ANGLO-MYSORE

- 1. Mysore was part of Vijayanagar Empire. After decline of the Vijanagar Empire Wodeyar dynasty established its rule. Haider Ali was a fauzdar in Mysor Army. Later he became defacto ruler and he initiated a policy of expansion of Mysore.
- 2. His policy of expansion alarmed the British. They initiated efforts to counterbalance Haider Ali. Which gave birth to Anglo-Mysore conflict.
- 3. First Anglo-Mysore War- 1767-69.
- 4. Second Anglo-Mysore War-1780-84.



- In this war Haider Ali died after the Battle of Porto Novo in 1781. In this battle he was defeated by Eyre Coot.
- War was continued by Tipu War ended by Treaty of Manglore in 1784.
- 5 Third Anglo-Mysore-War-1790-92
 - Tipu Sultan Strengthening himself, seeking French help & attacking English protected Stsate Travencore in 1789. This became immediate cause of the third War
 - War ended with Treaty of srirangpattanam in 1792 & in this Treaty Tipu gave half of his territory to English & his two soon as security.
- 6. Fourth Anglo-Mysore War-1799
 - Wellesely accused Tipu of conspiracy
 - · with the help of French against British &
 - · declared War in 1799
 - · British victory & death of tipu

ANGLO-SIKH

- 1 British interest in Afghanistan was to control Afghanistan in order to protect incursions from north-west in particular to counter balance Russian influence and development of trade in Central Asia.
- 2 British intervention in Afghan affairs gave birth to three Afgthan Wars.
- 3 Afghanistan policy.
 - Lord Auckland was the first to initiate the forward policy for Afghanistan.
 - He sent Alexander Burns to king of Afghanistan Dost Ali but this Mission did not succeed.
 - He initiated military campaign against the next king Dost Muhammad. By this move he could control Kabul, Dost Mohammad fled away. New king Shah Shuja was installed.
- 4 This military campaign was First Afgan War (1839).
- 5 Lord Lawrence initiated Policy of Masterly Inactivity. The policy refers to non intervention but being watchful.
- 6 Lord Lytton dropped Masterly inactivity policy & followed forward policy Second Afghan War took place in 1878 -80.
- 7 This war ended in 1880 before that Treaty of Gandhak in 1879 Was signed Under this Treaty

- Lytton Placed to divide Agfhanistan into two parts.
- 8. Third Afghan War began in 1919& ended with Treaty of Rawalpindi (1921) during the time of lord Chelmsford.

ANGLO-SINDH

- 1. Sindh was ruled by Baliuhi Tribes & rulers were Known as Amir There were three branches-Haid-erabad, Mirpur, and Khairpur.
- 2. Sindh Conquest It was Lord Ellenborogh in 1842 who made a plan of conquest of Sindh Charles Napier was appointed as resident in sindh in 1842 He accused the Amirs of hatching plots & conspiracies against British.
- 3. Issue of succession in Khairpur and British intervention gave rise to war and finally Sindh was annexed to British.