CHAPTER-10 INDIAN NATIONAL MOVEMENT

| Organization | Founder | Place | Year |
|---|---|---------|------|
| Landholder's Society Zamandari Association | Dwarakanath Tagore | Kolkata | 1837 |
| Indian National Union | A.O. Hume | Kolkata | 1883 |
| Bengal British India Society | George Thompson | Kolkata | 1843 |
| British India Association | Devendra Nath Tagore | Kolkata | 1851 |
| Madras Native Association | | Chennai | 1852 |
| Bombay Associaiton | Jaganath Shankershet | Mumbai | 1852 |
| East India Asociation | Dada Bhai Nauroji | London | 1866 |
| Poona Sarvajanik Sabha | M.G. Rande, G.V. Joshi | Poona | 1870 |
| Indian Association | S.N. Benerjee, A. M. Bose | Kolkata | 1876 |
| Madras Mahajan Sabha | M. Viraraghavachari, G. Subrahamya Iyer, Anada Charlu | Chennai | 1884 |
| Bombay President Association | Pherozshan Mehta, K.T. Telang, Badruddin Ayabji | Mumbai | 1885 |
| Indian Society | Anand Mohan Bose | London | 1872 |
| British India Society | Willian adam | Kolkata | 1839 |
| London Indian Society | Badruddin Tyabji, W.C. Banerjee, Pherozshah Mehta | London | 1865 |
| National Indian Association | Mary Carpenter | London | 1867 |
| Decan Associaiton | | | 1852 |
| National Representative Committee | | Londo | 1883 |

Facts about congress

- 1. Foundation in 1885
- 2. The significance of A.O. Hume's involvement was to remove official hostility.
- 3. The first Session at Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College in Mumbai.
- 4. The first president was Womesh Chandra Bannerjee of Bengal.
- 5. It was attended by 100 men of whom 72 were non-officials and were recongnised as members.

- 6. The founder members were Pherozshah Mehta, Badruddin Tayabji, W.C. Banerjee, Romesh Chandra Dutt Dada Bhai Naroji etc.
- 7. Initially it was named Indian National Union.
- 8. The name Indian National Congress was on the suggestion of Dadabhai Nauroji.
- 9. Earlier Poona was selected for the venue, but it had to be shifted to Mumbai because of the outbreak of Cholera in Poona.
- 10. The Governor-General of India at the time of its foundaiton was Lord Dufferin.
- 11. Among the classes, the educated middle class had the largest share in the beginning.
- 12. The legal profession was most heavily represented among the professions.
- 13. The Brahmins among the castes were comparatively large in number.
- 14. Among the provinces, Mumbai, Kolkata and Chennai took the leading part.
- 15. Landed classes and the masses were absent.
- 16. (a) Foundation of "British Committee of the Congress" in 1889 by Dada Bhai Nauroji, A.O. Hume and William Wedderburn to influence British Public opinion at London.
- 17. Dada Bhai started the journal 'India' in 1890.

| Year | Venue | President | Remark |
|------|-----------|--------------------------|--|
| 1885 | Mumbai | W.C. Bannerjee | 72 delegates |
| 1886 | Kolkata | Dadabhai Naroji | 436 delegates |
| 1887 | Chennai | Badruddin Tyabji | First Muslim President |
| 1888 | Allahabad | George Yule | First English President |
| 1889 | Mumbai | Sir William Wedderbum | 1889 delegates |
| 1892 | Allahabad | W.C. Nannjerjee | |
| 1895 | Poona | Surendranath Bannerji | |
| 1905 | Lahore | G.K. Gokhale | |
| 1906 | Kolkata | Dadabhai Naroji | |
| 1907 | Surat | Rahbehari Ghosh | Gongress split and session broke up |



Get Printed Study Notes for UPSC Exams - www.iasexamportal.com/notes

| 1908 | Chennai | Rashbehari Ghosh | A constitution for the Congress |
|------|----------|------------------------------|--|
| 1915 | Mumbai | Sir S.P. Sinha | |
| 1916 | Lucknow | A.C. Majumdar | Congress Merger and Pact with Muslim League |
| 1917 | Kolkata | Mrs. Annie Besant | First Woman president |
| 1920 | Nagpur | C. Vijaya Raghavachariyar | Change the constitution the Congress |
| 1922 | Gaya | C.R. Das | Formation of Swaraj Party |
| 1924 | Begaon | Mahatma Gandhi | First Indian President |
| 1925 | Cawnpore | Mrs. Sarojini Naidu | |
| 1927 | Chennai | M.A. Ansari | Independence Resolution Passed for the first time on the instance of J.L. Nehru |
| 1928 | Kolkata | Motilal Nehru | First All India Youth Gongress |
| 1929 | Lahore | Jawaharlal Nehru | Poona Swaraj Resolution |
| 1931 | Karachi | Vallabhbhai Patel | Resolution on Fundamental Rights and National Economic Policy |
| 1934 | Mumbai | Rajendra Prasad | Formation of Congress Socialist party |
| 1936 | Lucknow | Jawaharlal Nehru | |
| 1937 | Faizpur | Jawaharlal Nehru | First session to be held in a village |
| 1938 | Haripura | Subhash Chandra Bose | |
| 1939 | Tripuri | Subhash Chandra Bose | Resignation of S.C. Bose (Rajendra Prasad took ov er) and formation of powerd Block |
| 1946 | Meerut | Jawahar Lal Nehru | |
| 1947 | | J.B. Kriplani | |

- 1. State of Bengal comprising Bengal proper, Assam, Bihar and Orissa with capital at Kolkata.
- 2. Sepration of Assam and creation of a new state with Assam and Sylhet in 1874.
- 3. Partition of Bengal in 1905 by Lord Cruzon-two separate states were created.
 - Bengal comprising Western part of Bengal, Bihar and Orissa with capital of Kolkata.
 - East Bengal and Assam with capital at Dacca comprising the Chitagon, Dacca and Rajshahi division, Hill Tippera (Tripura), Malda and Assam.
- 4. Annulment of the partition of Bengal in 1911intergration of West and East Bengal and creation of three separate states.
 - Bengal Comprising West and East Bengal.

• Assam

- Bihar and Orissa
- 5. Separation of Bihar and Orissa in 1935.

Partition of Bengal and Swadesh Movement

- 1. Though publicly known since 1903, this was announced on July 19, 1905.
- 2. Motive of partition was totally political as as in clearl from what H.R. Risley, the then Home Secretary, wrote-"Bengal united iis a power, Bengal divided will pull in several different ways".
- 3. Call for Swadeshi Movement against partition was made orr August 7, 1905 in a meeting held at Kolkata Town Hall where boycott resolution was passed.
- 4. Partition of Bengal was effected in October 16, 1905.
- 5. The Congress supported the boycott movement only for Bengal at its Bearas session (1905) which was presided by G.K. Gokhle. Extremists in the Congress wanted it to be extended to other parts also.
- In 1906 sessional Kolkata, Dadabhai Naaoroji decleared the aim of the Congress "Swaraj like that of U.K. or Colonies". Four compromise resolution was also passed at this session—(a) Swadeshi (b) Boycott (c) National Education and (d) Self-Government.
- 7. Tilak gave a call "Swaraj is my birth right and I shall have it"
- 8. Important quotes about Swadeshi.
 - Tilak— "Swaraj or self-government is essential for theexercise of Swadharma. Without Swaraj there could be no social reform, no industrial progess, no useful education, no fulfillment of national life.
 - B.C. Pal— "It is not reform but re-form, which is the new city in the country".
 - Aurobindo Ghose— "Swaraj is the fulfillment of the ancient life of India under modern conditions. The return of Satyuga of national greatness" Political freedom is the flife breath of national life.



Get Printed Study Notes for UPSC Exams - www.iasexamportal.com/notes

- Lala Lajpat Rai— "A man without souls is a mere animal. A nation without a soul is only a dumb driven cattle.
- 9. Indigenous organizations is various fields developed to sustain swadeshi call.
 - Bengal National College was established.
 - Bengal Council of National Education headedby Guroodas Banerjee.
 - Panchaiapa National College-Chennai.
 - Bengal Chemical Factory established by Acharya P.C. Ray.
- 10. Tagore wrote "Amar Sonar Bangla"
- 11. To mark the Hindu-Muslim unity Raksha Bandhan was celebrated on the day of Partition.
- 12. Nanda Lal Bose became the first receipt of scholarship of effered by Indian Society of Oriental Art, set up in 19007.
- 13. Surat split in 1907. The moderates dominated the session and the extremists were ousted. Leader of Moderates was Firoz Shah Mehta. President of this session was Ras Behari Bose.

RTAL.COM