Haryana Public Service Commission (HPSC)

Haryana PSC Logo


Public Service Commissions, both at the Union and at the State level, are amongst the most important Public Institutions with long traditions which have served well. The establishment of this Institution had its origin in the history of Indian nationalism and the persistent demand of the leaders of freedom movement for progressive Indianisation of the Civil Service under British Raj. The Montagu-Chelmsford Report accepted in principle the demand for Indianisation of the higher civil services and accordingly a provision for this was made in the Government of India Act, 1919. The Royal Commission of the Superior Civil Service in India under the Chairmanship of Lord Lee, in its 1924 Report, recommended setting up of Public Service Commission of India. The Public Service Commission of India was set up on 1st October, 1926 under the Chairmanship of Sir Ross Barker. The first Commission at the provincial level was the Madras Service Commission established in 1930 under a 1929 Act of the Madras legislature. The Government of India Act, 1935 provided for the establishment of a Public Service Commission for each Province.

Accordingly, under the 1935 Act seven Public Service Commissions were established in 1937 for the provinces of Assam (at Shillong), Bengal (at Calcutta), Bombay and Sindh (at Bombay), Central Provinces, Bihar and Orissa (at Ranchi), Madras (at Madras), Punjab and North-West (at Lahore) and the United Provinces (at Allahabad). All the State Public Service Commissions including the successors of the older Provincial Public Service Commissions came to be established after the reorganization of States after independence. The State of Haryana came into existence under the provisions of Punjab Re-Organization Act, 1966 (No. 31 of 1966), with effect from 1st November, 1966, when the Haryana Public Service Commission also came into existence.

Commission's Functions:

AN ACT to provide for the recruitment of certain local bodies officers through the Haryana Public Service Commission. BE it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Haryana in the Twenty fifth year of the Republic of India as follows:-

1. (i) This act may be called the Haryana Public Service Commission (Additional Functions) Act, 1974.
2. In this act, unless the context otherwise requires.
(a) “Commission” means the Haryana Public Service Commission;
(b) “Local authority” means a municipal committee, notified area committee,

Town Improvement Trust, Panchayat samiti or any other authority legally entitled to or entrusted by the State Government with the control or management of a municipal or local fund; and

(c) “recruitment” means direct appointment or appointment of an official by transfer or promotion other than transfer or promotion in the cadre of the same service.

3. Notwithstanding anything contained in any other law for the time being in force, recruitment to all posts carrying an initial pay exceeding Seven Hundred Rupees (amended) per mensem under a local authority shall be made through the Commission: Provided that it shall not to apply to the-
(i) recruitment made for a period not exceeding six months and
(ii) recruitment of an Executive Officer of a Municipal Committee under the Haryana Municipal Act, 1973.

4. The Punjab Public Service Commission (Additional Functions) Act, 1955 (Punjab Act 9 of 1965( in its application to the State of Haryana, is hereby repeated. Know more..

Important Link:

Contact Info:

Haryana Public Service Commission
Bays 1-10, Block – B, Sector – 4, Panchkula - 134112

Telegram Address: HARSERCOM

PHONE: 0172 – 2560755 (Enquiry)
FAX : 0172 - 2560352
E-Mail: info.hpsc@gmail.com

Chairman: Ph. : 0172 – 2560351 - 52
Secretary : Ph. : 0172 – 2560752

NOTE: All correspondence and communications should be addressed to Secretary, Haryana Public Service Commission only.

Courtesy: Hpsc.gov.in

Image icon haryana-psc-logo.jpg21.47 KB