Karnataka Public Service Commission


Karnataka Public Service Commission

The Public Service Commission was constituted under the provisions of the Constitution of India on 18-05-1951. In accordance with the provisions of clause 14 of the Public Service Commission, Regulations 1950, the staff of the Public Service Commission as it stood on 18-05-1951, was continued as the nucleus of the staff of the Public Service Commission.


Karnataka Public Service Commission like any other Public Service Commission of a State in India, has come into existence by virtue of a Constitutional mandate under Article 315 read with Article 316 of the Constitution of India. In other words, the Commission is a constitutional body.

The “ Commission ” comprises of Chairman and Nine Members. The present incumbents are;

* Sri. Gonal Bhimappa I.A.S Retd.

* Dr. M Nagaraja
* Sri. N. Ramakrishna
*Sri. G T Chandrashekharappa
*Dr. B. S Krishna Prasad
*Sri B.P. Kaniram, I.A.S. Retd.
*Sri S. R. Rangamurthy
*Dr. M. Mahadeva
*Dr. H. V. Parswanath, I.A.S.

*Sri. V. B. Patil I.A.S

The service conditions of the Chairman, Members and the staff of the Commission are governed under the Regulations called the Karnataka Public Service Commission (Conditions of Service) Regulations 1957, framed under Article 318 of the Constitution of India.  The Commission is having its Head Office at Bangalore and four Regional Offices at Mysore, Belgaum Gulbarga & Shimoga. The regional office is headed by an Assistant Secretary, who is of the rank of Class I Junior Scale officer. Each Regional Office is equipped with one Section Officer, One Assistant, Two Junior Assistants, One Typist and Two Group “D” staff.

The office of the Commission is housed in two buildings viz. Park House & Udyoga Soudha at Bangalore provided by the Government. The Regional Offices at Belgaum, Gulbarga & Shimoga are located at Government buildings. To assist the Commission on Legal matters there is a Legal Cell headed by a retired District and Session Judge appointed on contract basis.  The Commission is having a full fledged Computer centre with required hard ware and soft ware support.

Important Links:

Contact Details:

BANGALORE – 560 001

FAX No.: 080-22266481 ... More..

Website: http://kpsc.kar.nic.in

Courtesy: kpsc.kar.nic.in