(Paper) Civil Services Exam Paper Pattern (Assamese)

UPSC : Civil Services Exam Paper Pattern (Assamese)


NOTE : Answers must be written in Assamese

Paper I

Section A: Language

  • History of the origin and development of the Assamese language-its position among the Indo-Aryan Languages-periods in its history.

  • Developments of Assamese prose.

  • Vowels and consonants of the Assamese languages-rules of phonetic changes with stress on Assamese coming down from Old Indo-Aryan.

  • Assamese vocabulary-and its sources.

  • Morphology of the language-conjugation-enclitic definitive and pleonastic suffixes.

  • Dialectical divergences-the standard colloquial and the Kamrupi dialect in particulars.

  • Assamese scripts-its evolution through the ages till 19th century A.D.

Section B: Literary Criticism and Literary History

  • Principles of literary criticism up to new criticism.

  • Different literary genres.

  • Development of literary forms in Assamese.

  • Development of literary criticism in Assamese.

  • Periods of the literary history of Assam from the earliest beginnings, i.e. from the period of the charyyageets with their socio-cultural background: the proto Assamese-Pre-Sankaradeva-Sankaradeva-post Sankaradeva-Modern period (from the coming of the Britishers)-Post-Independence period. Special emphasis will be given on the Vaisnavite period, the gonaki and the post-Independence period.


Paper II

This paper will require first hand reading of the following text and the questions will be designed to test the candidate’s critical ability.

Section A

  • Rãmãyana (Ayodhya Kãnda only) -- by Madhava Kandali.

  • Pãrijãt-Harana -- by Sankaradeva.

  • Rãsakrïdã-by Sankaradeva (From Kirtana Ghosa).

  • Bargeet -- by Madhavadeva

  • Rãjasûya -- by Madhavadeva.

  • Kãthã-Bhãgavata (Books I and II) -- by Baikunthanath Bhattacharyya.

  • Gurucarit-Kathã (Sankaradeva’s Part only) -- edited by Maheswar Neog.

Section B

  • Mor Jeevan Soñwaran -- by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.

  • Kripãbar Barbaruãr Kãkatar Topola -- by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.

  • Pratimã -- by Chandra Kumar Agarwalla.

  • Gãoñburhã -- by Padmanath Gohain Barua.

  • Monamatî -- by Rajanikanta Bordoloi.

  • Purani Asamîyã Sãhitya -- by Banikanta Kakati.

  • Kãrengar Ligirî -- by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla

  • Jeevanar Bãtat -- by Bina Barwa (Birinchi Kumar Barua)

  • Mrityunjoy -- by Birendrakumar Bhattachary-ya

  • Samrãt -- by Navakanta Barua.