(Paper) Civil Services Exam Paper Pattern (Dogri)

UPSC : Civil Services Exam Paper Pattern (Dogri)

Answers must be written in Dogri

Paper I: History of Dogri Language and Literature

Section A: History of Dogri Language

  • Dogri language: Origin and development through different stages.

  • Linguistic boundaries of Dogri and its dialects.

  • Characteristic features of Dogri language

  • Structure of Dogri Language:

    • Sound Structure:

      • Segmental: Vowels and Consonants

      • Non-segmental: Length, Stress, Nasalization, Tone and Juncture.

    • Morphology of Dogri:

      • Inflection Categories: Gender, Number, Case, Person, Tense and Voice.

      • Word Formation: use of prefixes, infixes and suffixes.

      • Vocabulary: tatsam, tadbhav, foreign and regional.

    • Sentence Structure: Major Sentence- types and their constituents, agreement and concord in Dogri syntax.

  • Dogri Language and Scripts: Dogre/Dogra Akkhar, Devanagari and Persian.


Section B: History of Dogri literature

  • A brief account of Pre-independence Dogri Literature: Poetry & Prose.

  • Development of modern Dogri Poetry and main trends in Dogri Poetry.

  • Development of Dogri short-story, main trends & prominent short-story writers.

  • Development of Dogri Novel, main trends & contribution of Dogri Novelists.

  • Development of Dogri Drama & contribution of prominent playwrights.

  • Development of Dogri Prose:- Essays, Memoirs & travelogues.

  • An introduction to Dogri Folk literature- Folk songs, Folk tales & Ballads.


Paper II: Textual Criticism of Dogri Literature

 Section A: Poetry

  •  Azadi Paihle Di Dogri Kavita

    • The following poets: Devi Ditta, Lakkhu, Ganga Ram, Ramdhan, Hardutt, Pahari Gandhi Baba Kanshi Ram & Permanand Almast

  • Modern Dogri Poetry - Azadi Bad Di Dogri Kavita

    • The following poets: Kishan Smailpuri, Tara Smailpuri, Mohan Lal Sapolia, Yash Sharma, K.S. Madhukar, Padma Sachdev, Jitendra Udhampuri, Charan Singh and Prakash Premi

  • Sheeraza Dogri  Number 102, Ghazal Ank

    • The following poets: Ram Lal Sharma, Ved Pal Deep, N.D. Jamwal, Shiv Ram Deep, Ashwini Magotra and Virendra Kesar

  • Sheeraza Dogri  Number 147,Ghazal Ank  

    • The following poets: R.N.Shastri, Jitendra Udhampuri, Champa Sharma and Darshan Darshi.

  • Ramayan (Epic) by Shambhu Nath Sharma (upto Ayodhya Kand)  

  • Veer Gulab (Khand Kavya)  by Dinoo Bhai Pant

Section B: Prose

  • Ajakani Dogri Kahani – Part I

    • The following Short Story writers: Madan Mohan Sharma, Narendra Khajuria and B.P. Sathe

  • Ajakani Dogri Kahani - Part II

    • The following Short Story writers: Ved Rahi, Narsingh Dev Jamwal, Om Goswami, Chhattrapal, Lalit Magotra, Chaman Arora and Ratan Kesar.

  • Khatha Kunj Bhag II

    • The following Story writers : Om Vidyarthi, Champa Sharma and Krishan Sharma.

  • Meel Patthar (collection of short stories) by Bandhu Sharma.

  • Kaiddi (Novel) by Desh Bandhu Dogra Nutan                   

  • Nanga Rukkh (Novel) by O.P. Sharma Sarathi

  • Nayaan (Drama) by Mohan Singh

  • Satrang (A collection of one act plays)

    • The following playwrights: Vishwa Nath Khajuria, Ram Nath Shastri, Jitendra Sharma, Lalit Magotra and Madan Mohan Sharma.

  • Dogri Lalit Nibandh

    • The following authors: Vishwa Nath Khajuria, Narayan Mishra, Balkrishan Shastri, Shiv Nath, Shyam Lal Sharma, Lakshmi Narayan, D.C. Prashant, Ved Ghai, Kunwar Viyogi