(Study Material) Indian History Who is Who

Current Affairs : Indian History Who is Who

Ali, Muhammad: A prominent nationalist leader and brother of Shaukat Ali, he was a leader of the Khilafat Movement and the Non-Cooperation Movement.

Amir Khusrau: He was a famous poet, historian and musician of the Delhi Sultanate. He enjoyed the patronage of successive rulers of Delhi from Balban to Ghiyasuddin Tughluq.

Aquaviva, Father Ridolfo: A Jesuit missionary working at Goa, he was sent to Fatehpur Sikri along with Father Monserrate by the Portugese Government on the request of Akbar who wanted to know the fundamental tenets of Christianity.

Asvagosha: A Buddhist (Mahayana) saint and scholar of Kanishka's period, he played an active part in the Fourth Buddhist Council. He was the author of Buddhacharitha (a biography of the Buddha).

Bussy, Marquis de: A prominent French general under Dupleix, he acted as the military adviser of Salabat Jang(Nizam of Hyderabad) for seven years(1751-58).

Charvaka: Founder of the earliest materialistic philosophy in India, the Lohayata School, he denied the existence of an imperishable soul, rejected the doctrine of rebirth and asked men to be happy in this life, for the body once cremated can never be formed again.

Dara Shikoh: The eldest son and favourite of Shah Jahan and Mumtaz, he was interested in Sufism and tolerant of all religious faiths. His claim to the throne was contested by his three younger brothers ( Shuja, Aurangazeb and Murad) which resulted in a war of succession (1656-58). He was ultimately tried and executed by Aurangazeb in August 1659.

Gwyer, Sir Maurice Linford: He was the first Chief Justice of India (Federal Court) from 1937 to 1943 when he retired and became the vice-chancellor of Delhi University. He also made a significant contribution to the drafting of the Constitution of India.

Ilbert, Sir Courtney: A law member of the Viceroy's executive council between 1882 and 86, he sponsored the famous Ilbert Bill . Later he served as the vice-chancellor of Calcutta University.

Kalhana: The author of Rajatarangini which is a chronicle of the kings of Kashmir. He lived in the 12th century.

Malaviya, Madanmohan: A leading nationalist leader, he edited three journals (Hindustan, Indian Union and Abhuyudaya) between 1885 and 1907, and joined the Indian National Congress becoming its president twice (1909 and 1918). His gretest achiement was founding the Benaras Hindu University in 1915.

Nana Phadnavis: A Maratha Brahmin, he became the guardian and chief minister of the minor Peshwa, Madhav Rao Narayan, and practically ran the affairs of the Marathas from 1774 till his death in 1800.

Tansen: A famous musician, he was patronised by Akbar. Earlier he was patronised by Man Singh of Gwalior (Tomar dynasty)

Upagupta: A Buddhist monk, he is believed to have converted Ashoka to Buddhism. He is also reffered to as Mogaliputta Tissa in the contemporary Buddhist texts.

Wedderburn, Sir William: An English ICS officer of distinction, he took a leading part in the Congress politics after his retirement. He presided over two congress sessions in 1889 and 1910.