(Syllabus) Detailed Analysis of CSAT Syllabus

Detailed Analysis of CSAT Syllabus

Syllabus of CSAT:

  1. Comprehension
  2. Interpersonal skills including communication skills
  3. Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  4. Decision making and problem solving
  5. General mental ability
  6. Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc. (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. –Class X level)
  7. English language comprehension skills (Class X level)

Detailed Analysis of CSAT Syllabus

The press release issued by the government of India has put forward only the outlines of new syllabus and because of this the civil services aspirants are quite confused about the real contents of new pattern of examination. Various rumours and half truths are circulating among the aspirants. Therefore it is imperative to clarify the prevailing doubts and difficulties. The detailed contents of CSAT and the pattern of questions can be conceived on the basis of the reports of various administrative reform commissions and the challenges being faced by the civil  servants in the modern age of globalisation and liberalisation. The main objective of CSAT is to test the candidate’s “aptitude for civil services” and to test his/her “ethical and moral dimensions of decision-making”. Whether a candidate can handle the pressure of day to day life of civil services will be tested through the new examination pattern. Therefore all the components of the prescribed syllabus have to be interpreted in context of the objectives behind the introduction of changed format.

Click Here For CSAT Articles Main Page