(Syllabus) MPPSC : Syllabus For Political Science Preliminary Examination (Optional)

Madhya Pradesh Public Service Commission
Syllabus For Indian Political Science Preliminary Examination (Optional)



1. (1) Nature and scope of Political Science - Relationship with other allied disciplines - History, Economics, Sociology, Philosophy and Psychology.
    (2) Approaches to the study of Political Science - Liberal, and Marxist.

2. (1) Concept of State - Elements and theories of Origin (Social Contract, Evolutionary-Historical, and Marxist) Functions of State (Individualist, Welfare State and Socialist)

(2) Other key Concepts - Sovereignty, Law, Rights, Liberty, Equality, Justice and Political Development.

3. (1) Democracy - Meaning and Theories of Democracy, Electoral Process ; Theories of Representation ' Public Opinion.
    (2) Political Parties and Pressure Groups/Interest Groups; Bureaucracy.

4. (1) Government - Constitutionalism, Parliamentary and Presidential form of Government ; Federal and Unitary form of Government.
    (2) Global order - Neo Liberalism, Globalization, Regional Organisations -EU, SAARC, ASEAN

5. (1) Political Ideologies - Liberalism, Marxism, Socialism, Fascism and Gandhism.
    (2) Nationalism and Internationalism.


1. (1) Historical Perspective of Indian Political System - Colonialism and Nationalism in India , The Indian National Movement ; Constitutional Development in India.

    (2) Indian Constitution - Main Features: Federalism in India; Centre State Relations, Demand for State Autonomy.

2. (1) Fundamental Rights and Duties, Directive Principles of State Policy, Parliamentary system in India. 
    (2) Legislature -
Parliament, State Legislature.

3. (1) Executive-Union Govt. and State Govt., Role of Governor, Coalition Govt.
    (2) Judiciary - Supreme Court, Judicial Review and Judicial Activism.

4. (1) Party system and Pressure Groups in India - National and Regional Political Parties, Pressure Groups in India.
    (2) Election Commission of India, Electoral Reforms, UPSC.

5. (1) Urban Local Government - 74th Constitutional amendment Act - Municipal Corporation and Municipalities.
    (2) Rural Local Government - 73rd Constitutional amendment Act - Panchayati Raj Institution, Working of Panchayati Raj in India.