(Profile) UPSC Member: Shri K. Roy Paul

Shri K. Roy Paul

Shri K. Roy Paul, IAS (Retd.) obtained B.Sc. (Engineering) from University of Kerala; Diploma in Trade Promotion from Helsinki School of Economics and Diploma in Export Industry Development and Trade Promotion from World Trade Institute, New York. He joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1967 and was allotted to the Bihar Cadre. During his 37 years of government service, he held a number of important and responsible executive positions in the Government of Bihar and the Government of India.

As Joint Secretary in Ministry of Information Technology (August, 1989 to October, 1994), he was mainly instrumental in unshackling the electronics sector, especially information technology, and was closely associated with the formulation of the new Computer Software Policy in 1991, which laid the foundation for the impressive growth of software export from India.

As Additional Secretary (May, 1997 to January, 2001) and Special Secretary (February, 2001 to February, 2002) in Ministry of Environment & Forests, he was able to put in place a system for transparent and objective processing of environmental clearance for different types of projects.

As Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation (March, 2002 to June, 2004), he was instrumental in setting up a high level committee for drawingup a roadmap for the Indian civil aviation sector  and taking other initiatives for bringing about revolutionary changes in the policy framework governing the civil aviation sector. During his tenure as Chairman of Air India, he was able to turn around the fortunes of the company. He piloted the process of amending Airports Authority of India Act to facilitate establishment of new greenfield airports in Bangalore and Hyderabad and other places.

After retirement from government service, he was appointed Chairman of the Committee to suggest measures for improving the Airport infrastructure in the country. The recommendations of Roy Paul Committee were accepted by the Government and are now under implementation. Was sworn in as Member, Union Public Service Commission on May 18, 2005. Demitted office on June 8, 2009.