(Current Affairs) Awards and Prizes | February: 2014

Awards and Prizes

Sahitya Academy Awards Announced for the year 2013

Sahitya Academy Awards 2013 was announced on 18 December 2013 by Sahitya Academy. Poetry writers have dominated the awards announced in 2013. Eight books of poetry, four of essays, three of novels, two each of short stories and travelogues, one each of autobiography, memoirs and play have won the Sahitya Akademi Award 2013. The awards were recommended by jury members, who represent 22 Indian languages and
approved by the Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi that met under the Chairmanship of Dr. Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari, President of the Sahitya Akademi. Assamese and Gujarati language awards will be declared
later on. The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by a Jury of three members in the concerned languages in accordance with the procedure laid down for the purpose . According to the procedure, the Executive Board declared the Awards on the basis of unanimous selections made by the Jurors or selection made on the basis of majority vote. The Awards relate to books first published during the three years immediately preceding the year of Award (i.e., between 1 January 2009 and 31 December 2011). The Award in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque a shawl and a cheque of 100000 rupees will be presented to the authors of these books at a special function to be held on 11 March 2014 at New Delhi during the Festival of Letters organized by Sahitya Akademi.

Winning poets of these awards were:

  • Javed Akhtar for poetry Lava in Urdu language
  • Namdev Tarachandani in Sindhi language for poetry Mansh-Nagari
  • Arjun Charan Hembram for poetry Chanda Bonga in Santali language
  • Radhakant Thakur for poetry Chaladuravani in Sanskrit
  • Ambika Dutt for poetry Aanthyoi Nahi Din Hal in Rajasthani
  • Sitaram Sapolia for poetry Doha Satsai in Dogri
  • Anil Boro for poetry Delphini Onthai Mwdai Arg Gubun Gubun Khonthai in Bodo
  • Subodh Sarkar for poetry Dwaipayan Hrader Dhare in Bengali

List of Sahitya Akademi Awards for the year of 2013

Sahitya Akademi

The Sahitya Akademi was formally inaugurated by the Government of India on 12 March 1954. As a national organization it is responsible to work for the development of Indian letters and to set the literary standards in all the Indian languages. It functions as an autonomous organization. It was registered as a society on 7 January 1956, under the Societies Registration Act, 1860.

<< Go Back To Awards and Prizes Main Page