(Notification) DBT-JRF in Biotechnology Online Application Forms | 2010 - 2011

Government of India
Ministry of Science & Technology,
Department of Biotechnology,

(Coordinated by University of Pune

GENERAL: Applications are invited from Indian nationals for the award of “DBT-Junior Research Fellowship” (DBT-JRF) for pursuing research in frontier areas of Biotechnology and Applied Biology. JRFs will be selected according to merit under two categories: Category A and B. Category A fellowships (Top100 in number) are tenable in any University/Institute in India where the students can register for Ph.D. Category B fellowships (150 in number) are tenable exclusively at the 69 DBT-supported Teaching Centres/Departments running DBT-supported masters programme, and 8 DBT Institutes, where the students can register for Ph.D. For further details please visit http://oasis.mkcl.org/bet/.

ELIGIBILITY: Those who have passed after January 1, 2009 or will appear (till August, 2010) for Masters in Biotechnology, Bioinformatics (M.Sc./M.Tech./M.V.Sc.), Molecular Human Genetics offered at BHU, and Neuroscience offered at Jiwaji University and TIFR, and B.Tech. Biotechnology (4- year course) recognized by UGC/AICTE are eligible for this award. The applicants should be below the age of 28 years, and 33 years in case of reserved categories, and women candidates. Candidates with 60% (55% for reserved categories) of the total marks (equivalent in grade) areeligible.

DETAILS OF THE AWARD: The fellowship will be initially for a period of 3 years extendable for 2 more years based on performance. By the end of 2nd year the performance of JRF will be assessed and will be upgraded to SRF. The fellowship as JRF / SRF will be @ Rs. 12, 000/- / Rs. 14000/- per month) + HRA as per host Institute norms, and a research contingency of Rs. 30, 000/- per year.

MODE OF SELECTION: The candidates will be selected based on a written admission test, “Biotechnology Eligibility Test” (BET) to be conducted on 18th April, 2010 at nine different centres, namely, Anna University (Chennai), Assam Agricultural University (Jorhat), Central University (Hyderabad), Chinmaya Vidyalaya (New Delhi), Guru Harkishan Public School (New Delhi), Gyan Mandir Public School (New Delhi), Sri Venkateswara College (New Delhi), University of Pune (Pune) and West Bengal University of Technology (Kolkata). Candidates, only belonging to SC/ST/PH categories, called for BET will be paid II class railway (non-AC)/bus fare by the shortest route from their home town, on production of supportive documents of competent authority. The examination centres are tentative and will be confirmed later.

MODE OF APPLICATION: Candidates should apply in the prescribed application form obtainable online at the URL http://oasis.mkcl.org/bet/. The last date for submission of online application form is 10th March, 2010. Stepwise procedure for filling the online application form and its submission is given in the above URL. The completed application form along with the required documents and application fee in the form of a DD of Rs. 500/- (Rs. 250/- for SC/ST/PH categories) in favour of “:MKCL”, payable at Pune, drawn on any nationalized bank, should reach the address mentioned in the URL, on or before 15th March, 2010. The application fee is non-refundable and nontransferable.

Important Dates:

  • Start date of online application
10th February, 2010
  • Last date of applying online and printing of completed application form
10th March, 2010
  • Last date of submission of printout of application form duly completed by post
15th March, 2010
  • Online publishing of list of eligible candidates and their Seat numbers with centers of Examination
31st March, 2010
  • Date of Entrance Test
18th April, 2010
  • Time of Entrance Test
10.00 a.m. – 12.30 p.m.
  • Date of result announcement online
10th May, 2010
  • Last Date for request of Award Latter
10th November, 2010

Period for joining programme: Within one year from the date of issuing the qualifying award letter.