General Knowledge for IAS Exams (Important Congress Session)

General Knowledge for IAS Exams (History of India and World)

Important Congress Session:

Year Place Importance

1885 Bombay At Gokuldas Tejpal Sanskrit College, 72 delegates attended the session.

1886 Calcutta 436 delegates attended the session.

1887 Madras Tayabji became first Muslim President.

1888 Allahabad George Yule became first English President.

1889 Bombay Congress represented all areas of British India.

1890 Calcutta Decision taken to organises session of congsess in London.

1895 Poona Demand of a representative body only for educated class.

1898 Madras Social reform was set as the main goal.

1907 Surat Congress split.

1908 Madras Constitution for the Congress fromed.

1916 Lucknow Congress merged. Pact with Muslim League, Gandhi attended

1917 Calcutta Annie Besant became 1st women President.

1920 Nagpur Gandhian programme was adopted. Change in congress constitution.

1921 Ahmedabad Harsat Mohani demanded for complete independence.

1922 Gaya Formation of Swaraj Party.

1923 Delhi Abul Kalam Azad became President (Youngest President) (sp. session)

1924 Belgaum Gandhi became President (Gandhi became President here first and last time).

1925 Kanpur Sarojini Naidu became 1st Indian women President.

1927 Madras Nehru and S.C. Bose moved resolution for independence and it was passed for the 1st time.

1928 Calcutta First All India Youth Congress.

1929 Lahore ‘Poorna Swaraj’ (Complete Independence) resolution and pledge for Independence day on 26 January 1930.

1931 Karachi Resolution for Fundamental Rights and National Economic Policy.

1934 Bombay Formation of Congress Socialist Party.

1936 Lucknow Support for socialism through democracy.

1937 Faizpur Demand for Constituent Assembly (First session in a village).

1938 Haripura Purna Swaraj was to cover also princely states.

1939 Tripuri S.C. Bose resigned due to difference with Gandhi. Dr. Rajendra Prasad was appointed in his place.

1940 Ramgarh Abul Kalam Azad became President.

1946. Meerut J. B. Kriplani became President.

1948 Jaipur Dr. Pattabhi Sitaramayya became President.

Click Here to Buy General Knowledge Books for IAS Exam

<< Go Back to Main Page