(Info) SSC : Revision of Scheme of Combined Graduate Level Examination - 2012


Staff Selection Commission

Revision of Scheme of Combined Graduate Level Examination

The 2nd Administrative Reforms Commission (ARC) in its report on “Refurbishing of Public Administration – Scaling of New Heights” had made recommendations to restructure the examinations of the Staff Selection Commission with a view to reducing the recruitment cycle to one year. The Commission had constituted an Expert Group in July 2009 under the Chairmanship of the then Director, Indian Institute of Public Administration, with members drawn from the Institute of Banking Personnel Selection, IIM, Ahmedabad, IIT, Delhi and the National Productivity Council and an internationally acclaimed expert on testing and assessment, to study the recommendations of the 2nd ARC and to recommend restructuring of the Commission’s examinations and interviews. Detailed Notes, placed by the Chairman, SSC, were studied and recommendations made by the Expert Group by and large on the lines of notes of the Commission. The recommendations of the Expert Group were examined by the Commission and most of its recommendations were accepted for implementation in a phased manner.

The Commission’s periodical proposals on Restructuring the Combined Graduate Level, Combined Higher Secondary Level, Stenographers Gr.’C’&’D’ and Multi Tasking Staff (NT) Examinations, based on the recommendations of the Expert Group, have been accepted by the Government. The Restructured Combined Graduate Level Examination with the following Scheme has been in vogue for three years and has greatly facilitated in reducing the recruitment cycle - from Notification of the Examination to Final Results – to one year, despite the increased number of applications and also the fact that the Scheme envisages four stages for the post of Assistant in CSS, three stages for other interview posts, three stages for the post of Tax Assistant in CBEC and CBDT and two stages for other non-interview posts.

Scheme of the Examination:

Different Tiers of existing Scheme of Examination for Combined Graduate Level Examination are as follows:

  • Tier -I -- Written Examination (Objective Multiple Choice Type)

  • Tier -II -- Written Examination (Objective Multiple Choice Type)

  • Tier -III -- Personality Test /Interview/Computer Proficiency Test or Skill Test (wherever applicable).

Read More..

Courtesy: SSC