(Current Affairs) Awards and Prizes | June: 2015

Awards and Prizes

Paris Based Poet Wins Kumar Asan World Prize

  • Paris- based Syrian-Lebanese Arab poet Adonis has been chosen for this year’s Kumaran Asan World Prize for poetry, instituted by the Kumaran Asan Memorial Association to honour poets of international stature and introduce them to Indian readers. The award consists of a cash prize of Rs 3 lakh, memento and a citation.
  • Some of his important works include If Only the Sea Could Sleep, Pages of Day and Night, Songs of Mihyar the Damascene, Not A Star, A Voice, A King is Miyhar, The Adoring Rock, and Take me to God.
    Susanta Lahiri Wins

Hevesy Medal Award 2015

  • Professor Susanta Lahiri, Chemical Sciences Division, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata, won the Hevesy Medal Award 2015, at the Tenth International Conference on Methods and Applications of Radio-analytical Chemistry for his outstanding contributions to heavy ion induced radioisotope production, tracer packet technique, converter targets, and green chemistry.

  • The other person to also win the award this year is Professor Kattesh V. Katti of the Cedntre for Radiological Research, University of Missouri, Columia.

  • This premier international award named after George de HEVESY, the 1943- Chemistry Nobel Laureate, is given to “an individual in recognition of excellence through outstanding, sustained career achievements in the fields of pure as well as applied nuclear and radiochemistry, in particular applications to nuclear analytical chemistry.”

UP Government to Honours Gopal Das Neeraj

  • Uttar Pradesh government has conferred its Sahitya Shiromani Samman and a cash prize of 21 lakh Rupees upon noted Hindi poet Gopal Das Neeraj. Along with Gopal Das Neeraj, veteran Hindi litterateur Uday Pratap Singh was also conferred with Sahitya Shiromani award and cash prize of 21 lakh Rupees.

Champions of Change Award to Satya Nadela

  • Indian-origin Microsoft’s CEO Satya Nadella has been chosen for the ‘Champions of Change’ award for bringing about change within his company to support working families. US President Barack Obama will honor this award to him.

  • Before being named CEO in February 2014, 47-year-old Nadella held leadership roles in both enterprise and consumer businesses across the company. Joining Microsoft in 1992, he quickly became known as a leader who could span a breadth of technologies and businesses to transform some of Microsoft’s biggest product offerings.

  • Champions of Change’ award is given to those who support working families and have helped to bring about change within their companies, communities or organizations by advocating for commonsense paid sick and paid leave policies, equal pay and an end to pregnancy discrimination to support families, businesses, and economy.

Bishwaratna Dr Bhupen Hazarika International Solidarity Award 2015

  • The second Bishwaratna Dr Bhupen Hazarika International Solidarity Award 2015 was conferred on internationally acclaimed filmmaker Adoor Gopala-krishnan in a function held at Rabindra Bhawan.

  • The biennial award, instituted by the Asam Sahitya Sabha and sponsored by the Numaligarh Refinery Limited (NRL), carries a memento, a citation, an eri chador, a collection of books and a cheque of Rs 5 lakh. The first international solidarity award instituted in the memory of the cultural icon had been given to eminent research scholar and dance exponent Lubna Marium of Bangladesh.

  • Sudakshina Sarma, eminent singer and younger sister of Dr Hazarika, offered her tributes and captivated the audience with the song Paneir ponati.

  • Adoor Gopalakrishnan, a multifaceted personality, has pioneered the film society movement in Kerala. He is regarded as one of the finest filmmakers of India. As a film director, producer and script writer he had played a major role in revolutionizing Malayalam cinema. Adoor’s debut film was Swayamvaram (1972) which had pioneered the new wave of cinema movement in Kerala. For his contribution to film industry, he has won 16 National Film Awards, 17 Kerala State Film Awards and several international film awards. Adoor is also honoured with Padma Shri (1984) and the Padma Vibhushan (2006), he had won the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 2004.

Femina Miss India 2015

  • Delhi girl Aditi Arya was crowned fbb Femina Miss India World 2015 at a glittering ceremony at Yashraj Studios in Mumbai. Aditi will represent the country at Miss World pageant and the runners-up Afreen and Vartika will compete for various international titles.
  • Afreen Racheal Vaz was adjudged first runner-up while Vartika Singh second runner up at the grand finale of 52nd year of fbb Femina Miss India, which took place on late Saturday night.

About Femina Miss India

  • Femina Miss India is a national beauty pageant in India that annually selects three winners to compete globally. The winner of Femina Miss India World vies in Miss World, Femina Miss India Earth winner competes in Miss Earth, and the third winner, Femina Miss India International goes to compete in Miss International.

Major Dhyan Chand Life Time Achievement Award to Balbir Singh Sr

  • A landmark occasion was witnessed, as Hockey India conferred the first ever Annual Awards to recognise the dedication and hard work of hockey players, coaches and administrators on the field to build the sport on the national and international arena.

  • Hockey India conferred the awards in the categories of Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award to Balbir Singh Sr. with a cash prize of Rs 30,00,000, the Dhruv Batra Award for Player of the Year (Men and Women) awarded to Birendra Lakra and Vandana Katariya taking home a cash award of Rs 25,00,000 each. Jaman Lal Sharma Award for Invaluable Contribution (for coaches and support staff) awarded to Harendra Singh wherein he got a cheque Rs 5,00,000 and Hockey India President Award for Outstanding Achievement conferred to One Thousand Hockey Legs with a Rs 5,00,000 cheque for its exceptional contribution towards the sport.

  • Six awards named after players who represented India in the past included, the Jugraj Singh Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Men – Under 21) awarded to Harmanpreet Singh with a cash prize of Rs 10,00,000, Asunta Lakra Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Women – Under 21) to Namita Toppo with Rs 10,00,000. Besides a cash prize of Rs 5,00,000, Baljit Singh Award for Goalkeeper of the Year awarded to PR Sreejesh, Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the Year to Deepika, Ajit Pal Singh Award for Midfielder of the Year given to Manpreet Singh and Dhanraj Pillay Award for Forward of the Year awarded to Akashdeep Singh for showcasing their efforts to continue upholding a healthy sports culture in the nation.

Click Here for Awards and Prizes Full Issue

Click Here to Join Online Coaching for IAS (Pre.) Exam

<< Go Back To Awards and Prizes Main Page