(Current Affairs) Sports | June - 2016


  • Vijender Singh gets sixth straight knockout (Free Available)
  • Shashank Manohar elected as ICC chairman (Free Available)
  • V.R. Raghunath, Dharamvir Singh and Ritu Rani nominated for the Arjuna Award (Free Available)
  • The Boxing Federation of India will have current and former players (Only for Online Coaching Members)
  • Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis suffered a shock defeat in the final of the Stuttgart Open (Only for Online Coaching Members)
  • India reached Azlan Shah cup finals (Only for Online Coaching Members)

Vijender Singh gets sixth straight knockout

  • Indian boxing star Vijender Singh’s rampaging winning streak remained intact as he carved out a sixth successive knockout victory by battering Poland’s Andrzej Soldra.
  • Fighting the first eight-round contest of his fledgling pro career, Vijender completed yet another dominating win barely a minute into the third round.
  • The experience of 81 rounds, which Soldra brought into the bout, hardly made a difference to the strapping six-footer from Haryana, who went about dismantling the Pole with ease.

Shashank Manohar elected as ICC chairman

  • The 58-year-old Manohar was elected unopposed as the first independent chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) for an initial period of two years from May 12.
  • Although he will assume charge straightaway, he will formally preside over meetings at the ICC’s annual conference at Edinburgh, Scotland in June.
  • Manohar was the unanimous choice of the ICC’s 13-member executive board; even England and Wales Cricket Board’s Giles Clarke — who was supposed to succeed India’s N. Srinivasan by a 2014 arrangement, proposed his name.
  • The cricket world had seen it coming after he had confided to many of his BCCI colleagues and friends that he will not stay for a minute as the BCCI president the moment the Supreme Court validates the recommendations of the Justice R.M. Lodha Committee’s report on reforms in cricket, either in full or in part.

V.R. Raghunath, Dharamvir Singh and Ritu Rani nominated for the Arjuna Award

  • V.R. Raghunath, Dharamvir Singh and Ritu Rani have been nominated for the Arjuna Award for sporting excellence for 2016.
  • The trio has been nominated by Hockey India, along with veteran Sylvanus Dung Dung, who has been recommended for the Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award, while coach C.R. Kumar has been named for the Dronacharya Award.
  • India captain Ritu is not only one of the most experienced and talented midfielders of all time but also has the distinction of leading the side to an Olympic qualification for the first time in 36 years.
  • A product of the hockey nursery of Shahbad, Ritu is considered among the most astute readers of the modern game.3
  • Drag-flicker Raghunath has been part of the Indian team’s defence for more than a decade, having made his international debut during the bilateral series against Pakistan in 2005.
  • He has been part of most of the Indian team’s recent successes, including the 2014 Asian Games gold, the HWL Finals bronze and the 2007 Asia Cup gold.
  • Dharamvir was also part of the Asiad gold-winning team and the silver-winning Commonwealth Games 2014 side.
  • The 70-year-old Dung Dung struck the winning goal to help India claim gold at the 1980 Olympics, the last time the team managed to do so, while Kumar is currently part of the senior women’s team staff and has been associated with various teams for almost two decades.

Click Here Read Full Sports News

Click Here to Join Online Coaching for IAS (Pre.) Exam

<< Go Back To Person In News Main Page