(The Gist of PIB) National Capital Region -2041

    (The Gist of PIB) National Capital Region -2041

National Capital Region -2041

  • The inaugural conclave “National Capital Region (NCR)-2041” with the theme “Planning for Tomorrow’s Greatest Capital Region” will be held in Delhi on 11th November 2019.
  • The Conclave will be chaired by the Secretary, Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs, Govt. of India.

Key highlights

  • The National Capital Region (NCR) is a distinct federal setup having the National Capital Territory of Delhi as its core. It is a unique example of inter-state regional planning and development.
  • The NCR covers around 55,083 sq.kms. of area with around 60 million population.
  • The constituent areas of the National Capital Region are as under:
  • Entire National Capital Territory of Delhi
  • Haryana sub-region comprises of the districts of Gurugram, Faridabad, Rohtak, Sonepat, Rewari, Jhajjar, Mewat, Palwal, Panipat, Mahendregarh, Jind, Karnal, Bhiwani and Charkhi Dadri.
  • Rajasthan sub-region comprises districts of Alwar and Bharatpur.
  • Uttar Pradesh Sub-region comprises of the districts of Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Bulandsahr, Baghpat, Hapur, Muzaffarnagar and Shamli.
  • National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB) was constituted by an Act of Parliament in 1985, as a statutory body under the Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs, Govt. of India. It is tasked to evolve policies for the control of land-uses and development of infrastructure in the region so as to avoid any haphazard development.


Study Material for UPSC General Studies Pre Cum Mains

This is Only Sample Material, To Get Full Materials Buy The Gist 1 Year Subscription - "Only PDF" Click Here

Click Here to Download More Free Sample Material

<<Go Back To Main Page

Courtesy: PIB