(THE GIST OF PIB) Codex Alimentarius Commission

(THE GIST OF PIB) Codex Alimentarius Commission


Codex Alimentarius Commission

  • Recently, the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) praised India’s Standards on Millets and accepted its proposal for the development of global standards for millets during its 46th session held in Rome, Italy.
  • India has framed a comprehensive group standard for 15 types of millets specifying 8 quality parameters, which received resounding applause at the international meet.
  • India put forward a proposal for the development of global standards for millets, particularly for Finger millet, Barnyard millet, Kodo millet, Proso millet and Little millet as group standards as in the case of pulses. 

About the Codex Alimentarius Commission:

  • It is an international food safety and quality standard-setting body.
  • It was created by the World Health Organisation and Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations in May 1963.
  • Objective: Protecting consumer’s health and ensuring fair practices in food trade.
  • Members: It consists of 189 member countries.
  • Membership of the Commission is open to all Member Nations and Associate Members of FAO and WHO which are interested in international food standards.
  • The Commission meets in regular sessions once a year, alternating between Geneva and Rome.
  • Funding: The programme of work of the Commission is funded through the regular budgets of WHO and FAO, with all work subject to the approval of the two governing bodies of the parent organisations.
  • The Commission works in the six official languages of the UN.
  • Currently, it has standards for sorghum and pearl millet.



Study Material for UPSC General Studies Pre Cum Mains

Get The Gist 1 Year Subscription Online

Click Here to Download More Free Sample Material

<<Go Back To Main Page

Courtesy: PIB